Winter of December 2013

P1210852-snow branches1) On Saturday we had about six inched of snow dumped down on us. I had to shovel my back door out five times, just a small area so that we could open the door.

It is Michigan typical December weather.

2) Sunday morning my car was at least 7 inches taller, and our driveway was packed so thick. My 15 years old shoveled as much as he could to get us ready for Monday school.

P1210848-snow covered

3) This week our weather runs from 15 to 25 degrees; and we are continuously getting snow shower now and then. Although I knew it is the inevitable, I still feel worn out and tired with the whole thing.

4) I have the best neighbor across the street. We wave to each other when we see one another, and some times, we don’t even do that. But he has been a great help to me by plowing the end of my driveway after the salt truck ran by. He has his own plowing truck, so it didn’t take him long to do. I always am so grateful for his act of kindness.

P1210849-winter branch

5) My world is pretty gray as you can see, but I am glad that Nancy is back with Random 5! Good week to you all..

Joining Nancy for Random 5 Friday!

About IcyBC

A simple person with a pragmatic soul!
This entry was posted in In Icy's Corner, Random Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter of December 2013

  1. Veronica Roth says:

    Hi Icy, it might be grey but it looks like a winter wonderland where you are. 🙂 Here in E it’s really mild and yesterday we went into London under blue skies and mild temperatures. I wish it would cool down for a few days and give us a dusting of snow, but then again it could grind the whole country to a halt like it did a few years ago. Anyway, hoping your Christmas is shiny and bright, even twinkly with lots of Christmas lights, and you’re surrounded with family and love. 🙂

  2. dianecayton says:

    We will be in the upper 60’s this week… definitely not what I had in mind for Christmas weather.

  3. Beth says:

    i love neighbors like that. i grew up in a neighborhood just like that … perfect in my book!! we would always get to catch up when it snowed. my relative would come over with his tractor & plow our drive quicker than what my Dad’s tractor could do. it was too fun. good memories. ( :

  4. Snap says:

    So wonderful to have good neighbors … they are a true gift. While I think snow is pretty to look at, I don’t think I’d like having to deal with it all the time! May you have a Merry Christmas .

  5. My mother has a neighbor like yours and he is always there to shovel her driveway and sidewalk, no matter how little or big the snowfall might be. So glad you have a neighbor that helps you. xo

  6. Robyn says:

    Snow adds a lot of extra work to our day. It snowed most of yesterday here, but it was of the dry and light variety. We are in another cold snap and thankful this one will not be as extreme as the last.

    Merry Christmas!

  7. I’m dreaming of a white Christmas! It’s raining here right now and washing all the snow away!

  8. Amy says:

    So nice to have helpful neighbors! It has been quite a winter so far. We woke up this morning to freezing rain and a glaze of ice everywhere…but never fear 7 more inches coming on Sunday! Merry Christmas!

  9. augcott says:

    I hear ya about the snow! We’ve had 3 snowstorms in 7 days! And it isn’t technically winter yet! Blah! The good thing is tomorrow it is expected to be 50 degrees!!!
    Merry Christmas!
    diane @ aug’s blog

  10. kelly kardos says:

    Crazy snow!!! but it sure is pretty. visiting from Random 5. Merry Christmas

  11. mrsbearfoot says:

    I feel for you, Icy. We used to live at the southern tip of Lake Michigan and were recipients of all that “lake effect” snow. It often times felt as if winter would never end. I sure do like your first image of the evergreens with the snow on it – very pretty! Glad you have such a nice and helpful neighbor, too.

    ~Lindy

Leave a Reply

