Random Things In the New Year

P1220122-cardinal

1) Spotting this cardinal on the tree outside while visiting my sister in Ohio. With such a dreary day, the red coat of the cardinal really stood out from the gray.

2) It has been snowing since Wednesday, and we are under winter storm Hercules watch until Tuesday. So far, I believe we have about 8 inches of snow already.

P1220113-winter scene

3) Now that the Holidays are over, I am somewhat getting back into the groove of things. There is not much to photograph out there in my world.

4) I am glad that school is still closing because I would not like to go outside shoveling all of that snow in the early morning.

P1220111-ducks in the water5) I don’t make New Year resolutions, do you? If I want to do something; I thought about it for while and decide whether to do it or not. I’m not going to wait until the next New Year to make resolutions.

Joining Nancy for Random 5 Friday!

 

About IcyBC

A simple person with a pragmatic soul!
This entry was posted in In Icy's Corner, Random Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Random Things In the New Year

  1. betchai says:

    I don’t make New Year’s resolution too, love your photos, though they may look cold, but they are so beautiful. Happy New Year, Icy.

  2. Hootin' Anni says:

    Wow that first image of the cardinal in the barren winter tree blew me away with the beauty of it all. But, I’m an avid bird watcher so, it’s always a special treat for me to view bird photography!!!

  3. lyur says:

    Nope no NY’s resolutions-your photo of the Cardinal is awesome…8 inches of snow is nothing to sneeze at, the plus is you will have beautiful photos.

  4. Snap says:

    The red of the cardinal really pops. All your winter photographs are lovely and true to the season. I think resolutions are made to be broken! 😉 Happy New Year!

  5. Buttons says:

    Take care in the storm it is pretty but shoveling is no fun and boy is it cold there it is really cold here.Never make resolutions because I never follow through. B

  6. Robyn says:

    Be safe during the storm. Severe weather is never fun.
    We are in for a cold blast starting Saturday. They are talking wind chills in the -50 to -60* range. I hope it doesn’t get that extreme.

    I like the cardinal! I have never seen one in South Dakota.

  7. tanya breese says:

    i don’t do resolutions either…blah! we haven’t gotten anything but cold weather from your storm…maybe we will get some snow on sunday night…a quarter inch is what weather.gov is saying lol…stay warm and safe! love the photos!

  8. Beth says:

    i prefer calling them goals. i enjoy making goals that i can achieve … not break. i guess that is why i dislike calling them resolutions. ( :

  9. latane says:

    I thought to begin with that the photo with #2 had Christmas ornaments hanging on it. But… wrong. It’s crabapples or something like that. Not many but enough to fool this old gal.

  10. lisa says:

    I love the pops of color that cardinal birds bring to this time of year. Oddly, they have been missing at my feeders this year. I don’t make resolutions either…just take one day at a time!
    Visiting from Random 5 Friday.

  11. I’m old fashioned I guess — I look at New Year’s as a fresh new page ready to fill up with things I’d like to do or not do… so I list them, at least mentally. I may not accomplish these goals, but it’s nice to make note of them. 🙂

  12. tinajo says:

    You´ve done some lovely captures here! 🙂

  13. Love that second shot, so beautiful.

  14. mrsbearfoot says:

    Beautiful images! I particularly like the composition of the center one.
    I don’t make resolutions, either. If I decide to make a change, I just do it right then. I don’t need a special date in order to effect a change. 🙂
    Happy New Year, and wishing you many blessings –
    Lindy

Leave a Reply

