Random This and That

Woodpecker

Woodpecker

1) I love watching birds coming to the feeders; wait, that’s not true! I only love a certain types of birds coming to the feeders: blue jay, cardinal, woodpecker, gold finch to be exact.

Sparrows and squirrels, I don’t like! They empty out my feeders too fast!

2) I don’t think it is morbid to talk about death! In fact, it is a great service for others if a plan is drawn out clear and concise. We plan out everything in our life so why not at the end?

P1200674-random 5

3) People think that by locking their doors or having another person by their side, they are safe! Living in fear isn’t on my list. I am careful and cautious of where I am, but that will not paralyze me into saying out loud that  I am scare of staying home alone or dying alone!

When it is my time to go, it is my time to go!

4) Halloween has become somewhat of a nightmare around my neighborhood as many people are using this occasion to stock up on treats. There are hardly any children and the majority are adults with their pillow cases of “my kids are sick at home”!

Thusly, no one is handing out treats on my entire street for years!

5) Somebody mentioned to me that October 20th was Sweetest’ Day, and I quickly said it was a made-up day by Hallmark to sell cards. I don’t care to even mention this ridiculous notion. We already have Valentine’s Day, no need to add another nonsense.

Live simple and just enjoy nature’s bountiful beauties then every day is a sweetest day!

Joining Nancy for Random 5 Friday!

About IcyBC

A simple person with a pragmatic soul!
This entry was posted in In Icy's Corner, Personal View, Random Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Random This and That

  1. I agree with many of your thoughts… have a wonderful weekend my friend. xo

  2. Hootin' Anni says:

    I agree….sparrows are way too invasive and gobble up everything before the other birds get a chance. Here, it’s sparrows and white winged doves…ALL the time!!! Love you woodpecker image. It’s beautiful…I’m an avid birder. Can you tell?

  3. Buttons says:

    Oh we had two kids last night I have to say I miss when we had more but miss taking mine out it was more to visit the neighbours than anything else. Yes those sparrows eat a lot. Nice photos. B

  4. Beth says:

    i totally agree with u on #2 make it easier 4 ur family & friends. go ahead & give them what u want now… so u can c them enjoying while u r living. i have lot of elderly n my family so i’ve been there done that many times. 35 i am have a will & a living will. working on planning my funeral too. it is so smart n the long run. ( ;

  5. Every bird/squirrel has to eat. I am swamped by both squirrels and sparrows. I solved the squirrel problem by baffling my poles. I so agree with #2. My dad was termanil and actually found comfort planning his last days and funeral.

  6. Rose says:

    I so agree with you on the extra holidays…with the price of cards, it is hard to buy for the main holidays. I don’t even know if they still have Mother-in-law’s day, but refused to do it…I had to shop for her on Mother’s day as well as my mom’s and was not doing that twice a year…

  7. I had 190 trick or treaters last night, most of them the smaller size kids. A few too big but what you gonna do… And, I got a lot of thank yous and have a happy Halloween from them. It was a good night around here.

  8. augcott says:

    I totally agree ….
    we had about 50 trick or treaters …. and surprisingly about 85% were under the age of 7. Cuteness!
    We so do not need any new holidays! Geesh!
    Have a great weekend!

  9. I would love to see us as a society get more comfortable talking about death. Before she died, my late mother-in-law shared with me that she was ready to go, and if she died by the end of the year (2008), she would be okay with that. That’s exactly what happened…she went to sleep and didn’t wake up. Her words were a huge comfort to me.

Leave a comment